It’s a big bright beautiful world!

Hello and welcome to Measured in Love, a new blog by me, a musical theater obsessed human who is frequently caught singing and dancing while doing house chores.

1941Music has always been a major part of my life, with some of my earliest memories including strumming the strings of my father’s guitar as he played the chords. I followed the usual path a music lover would – choir at church, chorus in high school, chorale in college, musicals, plays, concerts in my living room – you understand.

I’ve also been known to cry while watching performances live in a theater, during movies, or when listening to a cast recording. Side note:  That’s completely normal, right?

Music connects to my soul and has always provided an outlet for me when I cannot handle things in my life. That’s one thing that has always drawn me to musical theater. You’ll be hard pressed not to find a situation for which there isn’t a song. Love, heartbreak, death, marriage – everything in life is captured in one show or another.

Pittsburgh Marathon 2016In 2016, I ran my first Marathon in Pittsburgh, PA., and I dedicated my training and race to music. Read more about that whole experience. To add a charity aspect and give back, I worked to raise money for the amazing Find Your Light Foundation. I wouldn’t be who I am today without music, and I want every child to have access to the amazing soul-quenching ability music can have.

On Measured In Love, you’ll read about my experiences and current journey with music and theater, reviews of shows I’ve witnessed live in the great NYC or touring productions in Boston, and random musing of songs and productions that inspire me.

To kick things off and celebrate musical theater’s impact on my life, each day in May, I will be featuring a musical that inspires me, has changed my life, or has songs I just can’t stop singing. It was hard to narrow down the list to 31, so be prepared for an “honorable mention” list in the near future.

I hope you’ll join me as I measure my life in daylights, sunsets, midnights, cups of coffee (lots of coffee), and LOVE.

Leave a Reply

