I’m not throwing away my shot.

I’m not sure anything needs to be said about this musical. Basically the entire world has jumped on the Hamiltrain and the show bridged the gap between the Broadway obsessed and the general population.

Confession time, the first time I listened to Hamilton, I didn’t like it. I made it three songs in and stopped listening. But, I was never exposed to Hip Hop growing up, and I believe that being exposed to different music types when you’re younger has a large affect on your adult music choices.

But I gave it another chance. And after that I listened to it non-stop like the rest of the planet. I ate up every video I could find (there weren’t many) and watched all the Ham4Hams I could.

On the whole, the show has something for everyone. There are classical musical theatre songs like “Burn,” but also others like “Satisfied,” which in my opinion is one of the best of the entire show. And, Renee Elise Goldsberry is a goddess.

Not only does this number showcase the amazing storytelling abilities of song, it also allows women the chance to step into the spotlight and literally stop the show. Angelica is my favorite female character from the story, because she’s strong and educated – something that is not portrayed enough in any form of entertainment.

It’s about damn time women get some credit and the chance to shine!

“He’s after me cuz I’m a Schuyler sister. That elevates his status, I’d have to be naïve to set that aside. Maybe that is why I introduce him to Eliza now that’s his bride. Nice going, Angelica, he was right. You will never be satisfied”

 

If we want to talk about a show-stopping number, Leslie Odom Jr. delivers in “The Room Where It Happens.”

Lin’s writing throughout this entire show…there aren’t words to describe his genius. And then you combine that with Alex Lacamoire’s orchestrations….

Together the words and music advance the plot, interpreting the historical events from multiple character perspectives and this song is no exception to that.

For me, this is where you can really see the divide of Hamilton and Burr, with Burr once again, being left outside of the room where the important decisions are happening. But even though Burr closes out this song in style, Hamilton has to drop some wisdom about not “waiting for it.”

“And I wanted what I got. When you got skin in the game, you stay in the game. But you don’t get a win unless you play in the game. Oh, you get love for it. You get hate for it. You get nothing if you…”

Alright, back to the heartbreakers again. I remember the first time I heard “It’s Quiet Uptown.”

I cried.

I would hope this wouldn’t be a spoiler, but the Hamiltons lose their son in a duel, and though I’ve never lost a child in that capacity, I know it’s one of the worst types of grief anyone can go through.

The orchestration of this song gets me every single time. There’s an inner war Hamilton experiences that comes across in the lyrics, and the piece I highlight below just crushes my heart.

Accepting a loss of someone you love is difficult in every circumstance, and hearing Hamilton speak to his wife about how he would give anything to bring their son back and see her smile….I’m crying already.

Sorry to end this post on a sad note – but on Memorial Day, it only seemed fitting to end in a somber manner.

“If I could spare his life. If I could trade his life for mine. He’d be standing here right now. And you would smile, and that would be enough.”

One thought on “Day 29 – Hamilton

  1. Yes I am a musical fanatic, but Hamilton is a musical I would rather no listen to or even see. I have never liked hip hop and rap. I did listen to some of the songs, but the rap and hip-hop songs I honestly didn’t see that appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

