Let’s Make Butter Outta Cream

Wow. I can’t believe we’ve reached the end of Musical MAYhem already! I’ve been saving this show because it has a very fitting song to leave this month with.

Now, I have to make a confession here. Overall, I don’t think Catch Me If You Can was as tight as it could have been as a production – but the music is wonderful and Norbert Leo Butz and Aaron Tveit have one of the best bromances on Broadway.

Based off of Frank Abagnale’s real life, the story works as a sort of variety show, hosted by Frank as he cons himself into a pilot, a doctor, and a lawyer. It’s so outrageous, you would think it’s all fake. But it happened.

It really did.

This first video is from the recording studio, but features clips from the show, which is why I decided to feature it.

First off, I have mad respect for the dancers in this show, and wish I were tall enough so I could be one of them. And, hey, Aaron Tveit, in case you were wondering, you can be my one-man Disneyland anytime you want.

Ladies and Gents,  the first of the final songs from Musical MAYhem:  “Live In Living Color.”

“I’ve got a story I’d like to tell. But I’m gonna need help to tell it well. I’ve got a story about fame and money. And it’s got more curves than a Playboy bunny.”

One of my favorite female solo songs of all-time that is actually singable, “Fly Fly Away,” captured my heart the first time I heard it on the cast recording. Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman wrote one hell of a beautiful solo number that I haven’t been able to stop singing for months now.

Literally, months.

Because I’ve been so obsessed, I decided to record myself singing this one. And it has a beautiful message.

Happening at a pivotal point in the show, “Fly Fly Away” takes place right after Frank has just confessed to his wife-to-be that he isn’t who said he was. And with the FBI at the door, Brenda has to make a decision – does she rat out the man she thought she knew, or does she become his alibi.

Being that Brenda doesn’t appear in the show until the second act, it’s almost weird for her to get this smashing solo number towards the end of the show. She didn’t really need her own song. But by giving her a solo song, it pulls you out of the Frank parade – very very smart as part of the entire production.

“We didn’t get to say goodbye, goodbye. No need to tell me why, my baby. Maybe it’s because you’ll fly back home to me one day.”

Brenda’s song is great and all, but there’s a number that comes earlier in the show that literally takes everyone’s breath away – especially the actors onstage.

Not only do we get a super catchy beat, but also a full dance number with Norbert Leo Butz at the center. There will never be another actor who can play Carl Hanratty to me. This man is…..I can’t find the words. Just watch his characterization! I mean…damn.

Norbert dances the shit out of this choreography, and he doesn’t screw up the word vomit of lyrics while doing so. Seriously, I’m in awe of his genius. And his second Tony Award was well-deserved.

“Or else we’re livin in the wild wild west. God’s keeping score you don’t want to fail that test. You thumb your nose right at the life for which I strive. But those rules those laws keep us alive.”

We started the month off with “Hello,” and we’ll end it with “Goodbye.”

This is another one of those songs that I cannot stop listening to. I love the music, and the lyrics, and the overall message. At this point in the show, Frank has been caught. It’s all over.

All of it.

But instead of running away, he finally faces everything he has done, and says goodbye to the world he’s known. It’s a message about strength and courage, of truly letting go of the past and starting over.

I’ll let Aaron close out MusicalMAYhem with a video from his Elsie Fest performance. I picked this one because you can see his emotion come through and how much this entire production meant to him.

Thank you all for taking this journey with me. It’s been amazing.

“I’m not afraid of stopping, this end could be my start. I wanna live a life and not just play a part. I’ll walk into the sunset, I’ll sail across the sea, the final word the last you’ll hear of me, Of me…Goodbye.”

Leave a Reply

