Alright – I’m super ridiculously excited for Sunday night. It’s the TONY AWARDS! The one night of the year where my Broadway nerd gets to tweet and chat with other like-minded weirdos who love theatre and join in the celebrations.

This year I feel so much more invested than I have in previous years, because I’ve been following most of these shows from the beginning of the season, and have listened to interviews with some of actors – and I even saw two of the shows in person in NYC.

And…

I have never been more torn between nominees in my entire life.

Filling out my Tony Award bracket was more stressful than taking the SATs. To join in on that fun (the bracket, not the SATs), the Tony Awards created a printable version here.  A full list of my picks are below, but first, let’s talk about the performances!

As per the usual, there will be a TON of performances from this season’s shows – and I’m of course excited to see all of them. But, there are a few that I will be on the edge of my seat waiting to see.

  1. Come From Away:  If you haven’t listened to this cast recording yet, you should. Now. I wasn’t sure what all the buzz was about, but if the show is as amazing as the music (and obviously it is) they might just steal away that Tony for best musical.
  2. Bandstand:  Laura Osnes and Corey Cott are adorable. OK, that’s not the only reason why I’m excited. For me, this show got lost in the shuffle and still isn’t getting the love it deserves. Hopefully their performance will get the show more notoriety.
  3. Falsettos:  Andrew Rannells, Christian Borle, Stephanie J. Block – need I say more? I’ve been waiting impatiently for the show recording to air on PBS, and I’m hoping the Tony Performance will hold me over until then.

Now, for my picks for the evening. Will I be right? Who knows, the races this year are as tight as they have ever been. And the talent is mind-blowing.

Best Musical:  Come From Away

Best Play:  Indecent

Best Revival of a Musical:  Hello, Dolly!

Best Revival of a Play:  Present Laughter

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical:  Ben Platt

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical:  Bette Midler

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play:  Kevin Kline

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play:  Laurie Metcalf

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical:  Gavin Creel

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical:  Jenn Colella

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play:  Danny DeVito

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play:  Johanna Day

Best Score:  Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812

Best Book of a Musical:  Dear Evan Hansen

Best Direction of a Musical:  Rachel Chavkin (Great Comet)

Best Direction of a Play:  Ruben Santiago-Hudson (August Wilson’s Jitney)

Best Choreography:  Sam Pinkleton (Great Comet)

Best Orchestrations:  Dave Malloy (Great Comet)

Best Costume Design of a Musical:  Linda Cho (Anastasia)

Best Costume Design of a Play:  Jane Greenwood (Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes)

Best Scenic Design of a Musical:  Rob Howell (Groundhog Day The Musical)

Best Scenic Design of a Play:  Nigel Hook (The Play That Goes Wrong)

Best Lighting Design of a Musical:  Bradley King (Great Comet)

Best Lighting Design of a Play:  Donald Holder (Oslo)


I’ll be doing a live blog post on Sunday night, so stay tuned! And also join in the conversion with me on Twitter @Alycia_King

Happy Tony Weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

