Live reactions to the 2017 Tony Awards – updated throughout the broadcast. Follow me on Twitter @Alycia_King and join the conversation!

Tony Award Bracket Count:  9/24

Opening Number:  HOLY MOTHER OF PANCAKES BATMAN! I’m still trying to compose myself on that opening number. But anyone who thought Kevin Spacey wasn’t going to be a good host was clearly proved wrong in the first 15 minutes.

Come From Away Performance:  The introduction was “eh,” but the actual performance was amazing! I was tapping my toes and dancing along the entire time. What a brilliant musical and a brilliant performance!

Miss Saigon Performance:  With so much talk about the very young Eva Noblezada, I’m so happy they gave her the chance the show off her talent. Right at the end of “I’d Give My Life For You,” she stares so intensely at the camera that I actually felt uncomfortable. Brava, Eva. BRAVA!

Falsettos:  I think I was a little too distracted during this performance….I got one look at Andrew Rannells in those shorts….all I could think about was Aaron Tveit’s short shorts from Grease. But really, I need to see this production when it airs on PBS.

Dear Evan Hansen:  I may or may not have cried during this entire performance. I’m in love with this show because it is responsible for giving me my life back from crippling anxiety. Ben Platt was once again incredible in every single way and I need to go grab another box of tissues.

Groundhog Day:  I was very suspicious of this production, but I thought their performance was sweet. And major props to Andy Karl for still being able to perform after he injured himself during previews. I think it’s time I added this cast recording to my “listen to” list.

Hello, Dolly!:  I wasn’t thrilled to hear that the great Bette Midler would not be performing, but David Hyde Pierce had me smiling and bouncing along on the couch. The song was cute, and is now on my list of “to make you smile” theatre songs.

War Paint:  Broadway divas for this performance. I have to put out the disclaimer that the production does not appeal to me, so the number and the divas were great – but not my cup of tea.

Great Comet:  Again, no words! Josh Groban was unworldly…and the involvement of the audience by the ensemble being spread out throughout Radio City = incredible. And….side note….Lucas Steele…..how does such a powerful voice come out of such a pretty man?

Bandstand:  OK listen, I really wanted to be wowed with this performance. But….I just wasn’t. Maybe it’s that we’re toward the end of the show, but I felt it showcased more of the choreography than the talent of the performers. I understand that they were nominated for the choreo…but still.

Predictions & Results (bold indicates correct prediction)

Best Musical:  Come From Away
Winner:  Dear Evan Hansen

Best Play:  Indecent
Winner:  Oslo

Best Revival of a Musical:  Hello, Dolly!

Best Revival of a Play:  Present Laughter
Winner:  August Wilson’s Jitney

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical:  Ben Platt

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical:  Bette Midler

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play:  Kevin Kline

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play:  Laurie Metcalf

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical:  Gavin Creel

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical:  Jenn Colella
Winner:  Rachel Bay Jones (Dear Evan Hansen)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play:  Danny DeVito
Winner:  Michael Aronov (Oslo)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play:  Johanna Day
Winner:  Cynthia Nixon (The Little Foxes)

Best Score:  Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Winner:  Dear Evan Hansen

Best Book of a Musical:  Dear Evan Hansen

Best Direction of a Musical:  Rachel Chavkin (Great Comet)
Winner:  Christopher Ashley (Come From Away)

Best Direction of a Play:  Ruben Santiago-Hudson (August Wilson’s Jitney)
Winner:  Rebecca Taichman (Indecent)

Best Choreography:  Sam Pinkleton (Great Comet)
Andy Blankenbuehler (Bandstand)

Best Orchestrations:  Dave Malloy (Great Comet)
Winner:  Alex Lacamoire (Dear Evan Hansen)

Best Costume Design of a Musical:  Linda Cho (Anastasia)
Winner:  Santo Loquasto (Hello, Dolly!)

Best Costume Design of a Play:  Jane Greenwood (Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes)

Best Scenic Design of a Musical:  Rob Howell (Groundhog Day The Musical)
Winner:  Mimi Lien (Great Comet)

Best Scenic Design of a Play:  Nigel Hook (The Play That Goes Wrong)

Best Lighting Design of a Musical:  Bradley King (Great Comet)

Best Lighting Design of a Play:  Donald Holder (Oslo)
Winner:  Christopher Akerlind, (Indecent)

2 thoughts on “2017 Tony Awards

Leave a Reply

